Yes, this does relate to fashion.

 

Some eight thousands warriors are buried in-front of Emperor Qin Shi Huang’s tomb (In around 207BD) meant to defend him in the after life.  No, I didn’t fly to China and see the real thing (wish I could) My local museum was having a very special exhibit with pieces from the real deal in China.  For anyone in love with ancient history, it is a must see.  Interestingly enough, the clothing, or style of rob, armor, mustache, and hair, determines the rank of the solider. It all helps identify what rank the solider and/or general was.

Being able to stare at the soldiers, as cameras clicked away, one can see the amount of detail, or sweet and blood, that went into the creation of the soldiers.  It’s so interesting if you compare the difference between Chinese armor, armor of the ancient Greeks, and Medieval knights.  The exhibit inspired me to go draw Chinese armor for the rest of my life.  So I guess now I have another thing to research.  Enjoy these photos, as I go sharpen my pencils.

Looking for more, check out http://www.imperialtours.net/terracotta_warriors.htm

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



